What are the Alaska DUI Laws?

12.05.2011

Drinking and Driving Laws in Alaska

The State of Alaska like the rest of the United States has a drunk driving law that prohibits a person from driving when they have a BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) of .08 percent or more alcohol in their blood system. Research has shown that levels in the area of .05 percent impairs the driving ability of most individuals and that an .08 percent level should be defined as the legal limit for the "impaired" driver.


DUI Fines and Penalties in Alaska


1st DUI Offense
First Drunk Driving Conviction
Driver License Suspension – Minimum of 90 Days
Imprisonment – Minimum of 72 Hours
Fine - $1,500
More: First Offense DUI on Alaska


2nd DUI Offense
Second Drunk Driving Conviction
Driver License Suspension – Minimum of 1 Year
Imprisonment – Minimum of 20 Days
Fine - $3,000


3rd DUI Offense
Third Drunk Driving Conviction
*Class C Felony
Driver License Suspension – Minimum of 3 Years or *Permanent Suspension
Imprisonment – Minimum of 60 Days or *120 Days
Fine - $4,000 or *$10,000

*If within 10 Years of Previous Conviction


4th DUI Offense
Fourth Drunk Driving Conviction
*Class C Felony
Driver License Suspension – Minimum of 5 Years or *Permanent Suspension
Imprisonment – Minimum of 90 Days or *120 Days
Fine - $5,000 or *$10,000
*If within 10 Years of Previous Conviction


5th DUI Offense
Fifth Drunk Driving Conviction
*Class C Felony
Driver License Suspension – Minimum of 5 Years or *Permanent Suspension
Imprisonment – Minimum of 240 Days or *360 Days
Fine - $6,000 or *$10,000


Additional DUI Penalties in Alaska
In addition to the penalties listed above, a driver convicted of a DUI in Alaska may impose the following:

While the convicted driver is incarcerated or as a condition of probation or parole be required to take medication that is intended to prevent the consumption of alcohol.
During probation, the offender may not operate a motor vehicle unless it is equipped with a certified ignition interlock device. All costs associated with the installation and maintenance of this device will be paid by the convicted DUI offender.
The court may order the screening, evaluation, referral, and program requirements of an alcohol safety action program as a condition of probation or parole.
Share this article on :

0 comments:

Post a Comment

 
© Copyright 2010-2011 DUI LAWYER ATTORNEY All Rights Reserved.