What are the Louisiana DUI Laws?

12.05.2011

Drinking and Driving Laws in Louisiana

In the State of Louisiana it is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or above. The .08 BAC limit is the standard measurement across the United States for an "Impaired" driver. Louisiana has lower BAC limits for minors and drivers of commercial vehicles. The Louisiana driving while intoxicated (DWI) law also covers the use of drugs such as marijuana, amphetamines, tranquilizers and barbiturates. The penalty for driving under the influence of drugs is the same as driving under the influence of alcohol.


1st DUI Offense
Jail – Up to 6 Months
Fine - $1,000
License Suspension – 90 Days
License Suspension – 6 Months (Under 21)


2nd DUI Offense
Jail – 48 Hours Mandatory up to 6 Months
Fine - $1,000
License Suspension – 1 Year


3rd DUI Offense
Felony Offense
Jail – 45 Days Mandatory up to 5 Years
Fine - $2,000
License Suspension – 2 Years
Substance Abuse Treatment – 6 Week Inpatient
Community Service – 30 Days
Home Incarceration – Remainder of Sentence


4th DUI Offense
Felony Offense
Jail – 75 Days Mandatory up to 30 Years
Fine - $5,000
License Suspension – 2 Years
Vehicle May Be Seized and Sold
Substance Abuse Treatment – 6 Week Inpatient
Community Service – 40 Days
Home Incarceration – Remainder of Sentence
Share this article on :

0 comments:

Post a Comment

 
© Copyright 2010-2011 DUI LAWYER ATTORNEY All Rights Reserved.