What are the Michigan DUI Laws?

12.05.2011

Drinking and Driving Laws in Michigan

The drunk driving law in the State of Michigan makes it illegal to drive with a .08 percentage blood alcohol concentration (BAC) or above. The .08 limit is the standard measure of the "impaired" driver across the United States. Michigan has lower BAC limits for drivers under the age of 21 and commercial drivers. In addition to Michigan's OWI (Operating While Intoxicated) law, Michigan has another law called the OWVI (Operating While Visibly Impaired ) law. This law means that because drugs or alcohol (or both) are in your body, that your ability to drive was visibly impaired. Operating a motor vehicle with any amount of a Schedule 1 drug (Cocaine, Barbiturates etc.) is illegal under Michigan's OWVI law.


1st DUI Offense
Jail – Up to 93 Days
License Suspension – Up to 6 Months
License Suspension - Eligible for Restricted License after 30 Days
License Points - 6
Fine – From $100 to $500
Fine - $1,000 Driver Responsibility Fee for 2 Years

Other Possibilities
Community Service – Up to 360 Hours
Ignition Interlock
Vehicle Immobilization


2nd DUI Offense
Jail – From 5 Days to 1 Year
License Suspension – Minimum of 1 Year
License Points – 6
License Plate Confiscation
Vehicle Immobilization – From 90 to 180 Days (Unless Vehicle is Forfeited)
Fine – From $200 to $1,000
Fine - $1,000 Driver Responsibility Fee for 2 Years
Ignition Interlock Device

Other Possibilities
Community Service – From 30 to 90 Days


3rd DUI Offense
Felony Offense
Jail – Probation With 30 Days to 1 Year
Imprisonment– From 1 to 5 Years
License Suspension – Minimum of 1 Year
License Points – 6
License Plate Confiscation
Vehicle Immobilization – From 90 to 180 Days (Unless Vehicle is Forfeited)
Ignition Interlock Device
Fine – From $200 to $1,000
Fine - $1,000 Driver Responsibility Fee for 2 Years
Other Possibilities
Community Service – From 60 to 180 Days
Share this article on :

2 comments:

stephen smith said...

very good information....thanks for sharing the drinking and driving laws...

Joseph P. said...

This list of offense can help offender the possibilities of avoiding DUI charges. It will give an idea of prohibiting themselves from drinking too much of alcohol. Contact DUI lawyers if you are charged they can help you through this.

Joseph @ DUI lawyers in Parramatta


Sydney Drink Driving & DUI Lawyers | Beazley Singleton Solicitors
14/370 Pitt St Sydney NSW 2000
(02) 9283 8622
http://sydneydrinkdriving.com.au/
jaboorman@beazleysingleton.com.au

Post a Comment

 
© Copyright 2010-2011 DUI LAWYER ATTORNEY All Rights Reserved.